Report on Lakshya

On the occasion of diamond jubilee year of Government college of Engineering, Aurangabad, a state level badminton and chess championship was organized by college on 11 and 12th January 2020. This championship was only for Government and Government aided colleges of Maharashtra only. Accommodation and food was inclusive in entry fees.

Inauguration was on 10:30 am on 11th of January. Chief Guest of the event was International Master Sakshi Chitlange. She is an International Master in chess and Shivchhatrapatai Awardee. At 11:30 am, there was simultaneous exhibition chess match where IM played against 16 participants simultaneously.

We would like to thank Dr. P B Murnal sir, Dr. U J Kahalekar sir and Dr. S A Patil sir for their support and coordination for the event.

CHESS:

49 players from 6 colleges had participated in that event. Senior national arbiter Pushkar Dongre and senior national arbiter Hemant Late were the arbiters for this event. Tournament was according to swiss system and fide laws.

College	no of Teams	no of players
GCE, Aurangabad	2	5+5
COEP	2	4+4
GCE, Nagpur	3	4+4+4
GCE, Yavatmal	1	5
GCE, Chandrapur	1	5
GCE, Avsari	1	5
GCE, Amravati	1	4
1 Lady Coach of Amravati		1
TOTAL	11	50

What is the Swiss System?

In a Swiss-system chess tournament, organizers try to give each player a similar number of White and Black games by the end of the event. Organizers rank players in each group according to a rating system where players are separated into a top and bottom half. Players in the top half of each group are then paired with those the bottom half. For instance, if there are six players in the top-scoring group, player No. 1 will play against player No. 4, player No. 2 will be pitted against player No. 5 and player No. 3 will face off against player No. 6. This system is technically known as the "Dutch system," according to FIDE, the international chess federation. But this pairing method is still considered part of the Swiss system and is the most common form of pairing in Swiss tournament

Day 1:

Starting rank was published on the basis of average team rating. As there were 11 teams form 6 colleges, there were 4 swiss rounds.

Three of the four rounds were completed on day 1.

Schedule

10:30	Inauguration
11:30	Simultaneous Exhibition
1:00-2:00	Lunch
3:00 – 4:00	First round
4:00 – 5:00	Second round
5:00 - 6:00	Third round

Day 2:

9:00 - 10:00	Breakfast
11:00 - 12:30	Fourth round
1:00	Display of final standings

Prize distribution:

Prize distribution was held on 4:00 pm of 12th of January 2020.

Results:

Winner: COEP-A

Runner Up: GECA-A

Final Standings:

Rk.	SNo	Team	Games	+	=	-	TB1	TB2	TB3
1	1	COEP A	4	4	0	0	8	11,5	36,5
2	3	Govt Engg. Aurangabad A	4	3	0	1	6	12,0	18,5
3	7	Govt Engg. Aurangabad B	4	2	2	0	6	11,0	21,5
4	5	COEP B	4	2	1	1	5	8,5	19,5
5	10	Govt Nagpur B	3	1	0	2	4	10,0	5,0
6	4	Govt Engg. Chandrapur	4	2	0	2	4	8,5	16,5
7	2	Govt Engg. Avsari	4	1	2	1	4	8,0	19,8
8	9	Govt Nagpur A	4	2	0	2	4	8,0	13,5
9	6	Govt Engg. Amravati	3	0	1	2	3	8,0	5,5
10	8	Govt Engg. Yavatmal	3	0	0	3	2	5,5	0,0
11	11	Govt Nagpur C	3	0	0	3	2	5,0	0,0





Boys teams:

Govt. Jalgaon

COEP-1

Govt. Pharmacy, Aurangabad-1

Govt. Karad

Govt. Avsari

Govt. Yavatmal

GECA-1

SGGS

COEP-2

Govt. Pharmacy, Aurangabad-2

GECA-2

GECA-3

Matches were conducted on knockout basis.





Results:

Winner(B): COEP-A

Runner Up(B): GECA-A

Winner (G) : Nagpur Runner up(G) : COEP

EVENT TEAM:

1	PRAVIN GAJMAL	SPORTS SCRETARY
2	AJAY SHEP	EVENT HEAD
3	PRAMOD DURBE	BADMINTON HEAD COORDINATOR
4	HARIDAS BHUJANG	CHESS HEAD COORDINATOR

CHESS COORDINATORS	BADMINTON COORDINATORS	HOSPITALITY TEAM		
ANAND VIDEKAR	ARYAN WAKHLOO	AMIT CHINCHANSURE		
MANSI TURKAR	SANKET KALYANIKAR	OMPRAKASH SALUNKHE		
UMAKANT HADE	SAKSHI BHALCHANDRA	AAREF SHAIKH		
SUMIT KOSHTI	HARSHAL BAFNA	VEDANT BORSE		
MOHD SAAREB	NAYAN PAWAR	GANESH SHINDE		
YUTIK KARADE	SANKET PAHURKAR			

REGISTRATION AND DOCUMENTATION TEAM	MANAGEMENT TEAM GOPAL REDDY ABHISHEK RATHOD		
VIKAS JAGDALE			
AMOL BADAK			
PRASAD DHAKNE	DEVIDAS KHARAT		
ATISH PATIL	DHIRAJ MACHPALLE		
HASSAN SAYED	SHAILESH ARADHWAD		

